Home for York Rite Masons

of Nevada

Note: Use of the information found on this website is for Masonic and York Rite Use Only. Any other use of information obtained from this site is strictly prohibited.

The York Rite Masons

of the 

State of Nevada

Welcome you


The Grand Presiding Officers of the three York Rite Bodies for the State of Nevada extend their welcome to all visitors to this website. If you are a York Rite Mason, thank you for dropping in. We hope you enjoy the website. If you are not a York Rite Mason, we encourage you to browse our site and consider becoming a York Rite Mason. Just like the Marines - we a looking for a "few good men" (to make them better men).


The York Rite consists of a series of Degrees and Orders as described below.  York Rite actually begins with the Blue Lodge Degrees (Entered Apprentice, Fellow Craft, and Master Mason).  But, one is not considered to be a "York Rite Mason" until he has taken the Royal Arch series of degrees, following through with the Cryptic Mason degrees, and culminating or completing with the Templar Orders.  When you complete the York Rite series of "degrees" you become a Companion and, when you complete the "orders", a Sir Knight.  


The series of Royal Arch Degrees is displayed on the right hand side of the chart on the right hand side of this page.  They are: 

The Royal Arch Degrees are a direct continuation of the "Blue Lodge" degrees and answer many of the questions left open from the Blue Lodge.  The true Blue Lodge education (Entered Apprentice through Master Mason) is incomplete without the Royal Arch series of degrees to put the teachings of the Blue Lodge in their proper perspective.  

That is why when the two groups of Masons in England (The Antients and the Moderns) joined in the 1700's, they specified that to become a Master Mason one had to take three degrees - including the Holy Royal Arch.  This strongly hints that every Master Mason should complete the Royal Arch series of Degrees, at a minimum.  

After completing the Royal Arch degrees, one is welcomed as a Companion in the Royal Arch Chapter.  

 The Cryptic Mason Degrees are not in a continuing line of history from the Royal Arch series of degrees.  Instead, they return to an earlier time to examine some points that we may have missed.  But, they do build upon all that has come before and present the masonic brother with different lessons that make the degrees valuable in their own right and, for their own reasons.  They again address the spiritual lessons that are so key to understanding the points taught in our fraternity.  The Cryptic series of degrees consist of:

Cryptic Masons are Companions and they belong to a Cryptic Masons Council.


 The Knight Templar Orders are a Christian series (of "degrees") that makes a masonic brother a member of the Order of the Red Cross, a Knight of Malta and the Mediterranean Pass, and a Knight Templar.  (Among other titles that are included in the process.)

The Orders consist of:

 The last two Orders require a commitment to the Christian faith and should not be undertaken by other than Christians.  The Knights Templar Order is the culmination or capstone of the regular York Rite "degrees" and once completed, a masonic brother is advanced to the rank of "Sir Knight" or Knight Templar.  

Part of the training process, in being educated in the Orders, addresses part of the history of the Knights Templar Order.  

It also addresses the Knights Templar during the time of the Crusades, and their historical journey through the ages, while providing a rich historical backdrop for the conferring of these Orders. The Orders challenge the candidate to reaffirm his belief in the Christian faith.  

Upon completion of this series of Orders, the candidate is dubbed a Christian Knight - a Knight Templar and becomes a member of a Commandery of Knights Templar.

Our Latest Headlines for Members

Note: please see the latest postings on the Announcement page.

Dates for upcoming events will be found on the Calendar page.

Official Visit (OV) Schedules will be found under each group's pages. Normally, a dinner is held prior to the OV. Be sure to check beforehand and plan to be there. 

For educational discussions at meetings, please check our Links page for Carson 1 Trestle board articles. (Found at the bottom of the left hand side of the page.)

Note to Secretaries & Recorders
The Web Master is still working to make all regular forms used by the Fraternity available on the website as PDF input fill-able forms under Documents\Forms. If the Form is there, that is the form you are to use. Please do not use any local forms. If the form is available on the website - use it. Let's work together to standardize our forms across all of Nevada.

A Quick Explanation for the York Rite

Both the York Rite and the Scottish Rite is intimately linked to the structure of Freemasonry (which is displayed in the pyramid chart below).

Freemasonry (and the York Rite) begins with the three "Blue Lodge" degrees (Entered Apprentice, Fellow Craft, and Master Mason) that are depicted on the bottom front of the above chart and progresses upwards with the York Rite structure on the right and the Scottish Rite structure on the left of the chart. 

There are two major masonic paths or options on this chart available to a Master Mason for further opportunity or growth after becoming a Master Mason: 

Both paths offer further opportunities for spiritual learning and growth, but, the York Rite Path is the natural progression from "the Blue Lodge degrees" and explains the things that were conspicuously absent from the lessons found in the Blue Lodge (the Blue Lodge degrees are actually a part of the York Rite series in the United States). 

The York Rite "road" is above. 

The York Rite does specifically require a member to be a Christian to proceed through the "higher degrees" or Orders of this path (the last two Orders of the Templar series).  Upon completion of the York Rite degrees & orders, one is dubbed a Knight Templar.

The Scottish Rite does not require a belief in the Christian religion and may be a viable option for non-Christians (and for Christians wishing further understanding of masonic teachings). It consists of 32 degrees (including the 3 base Masonic degrees). There is an honorary, invitation only, 33rd degree. After finishing the normal set of Scottish Rite degrees, one would be considered a 32nd degree Mason. The Scottish Rite covers a lot of information in it's 32 degrees and is recommended for those who want further understanding of Freemasonry.  A Master Mason has the option of either path or, both paths. 

The York Rite consists of 9 additional "regular degrees" (and one optional degree), plus the 3 Blue Lodge degrees - for a total of 12.  A short description of the "degrees" for York Rite are  on the left hand side of this page and are further explained on the individual pages for Royal Arch, Cryptic Masons, and Knights Templar

Further "York Rite degrees" are available beyond the "regular York Rite degrees", but are usually available as "honorary" or "by invitation only" degrees.  Please visit the "About Us" page for contact information for becoming a part of the Nevada York Rite.